

# BOARD OF PARKS AND RECREATION INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING

# **NOVEMBER 5, 2018**

--- 2014-2018 BOARD ---

A special Board meeting was held on Monday, November 5, 2018, at 7:00 pm, at the VanDusen Botanical Garden Visitor Centre, 5251 Oak Street, Vancouver, British Columbia.

PRESENT: 2014–2018 Commissioner Stuart Mackinnon, Chair

Commissioner Catherine Evans, Vice-Chair

Commissioner-Elect Tricia Barker
Commissioner John Coupar
Commissioner Casey Crawford
Commissioner-Elect Dave Demers
Commissioner-Elect Camil Dumont
Commissioner-Elect Gwen Giesbrecht

Commissioner-Elect John Irwin Commissioner Sarah Kirby-Yung

Commissioner Erin Shum Commissioner Michael Wiebe

GENERAL MANAGER'S OFFICE:

Malcolm Bromley, General Manager Shauna Wilton, Deputy General Manager

Steve Jackson, Director, Financial Planning and Analysis

Howard Normann, Director of Parks Donnie Rosa, Director of Recreation

Dave Hutch, Acting Director of Planning and Park Development Cheryl Chan, Manager, Executive Office and Board Relations

Carol Lee, Meeting Clerk

#### **ACKNOWLEDGEMENT**

The Chair acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on the traditional territory of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. The meeting is being held on the land respectfully and with honour to each other, the land and the communities that the Park Board serve. The Chair invited all to join him in committing to actions of reconciliation in their deliberations and decisions.

#### **ADOPTION OF MINUTES**

MOVED by Commissioner Kirby-Yung SECONDED by Commissioner Shum

THAT the minutes of the October 29, 2018 Park Board Committee and Regular Board Meetings be approved as circulated.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

#### **CHAIR'S REPORT**

# 1. Review of 2014–2018 Term

The Chair introduced a video highlighting the accomplishments during the term of the 2014–2018 Board and recognized the contributions of the Park Board staff.

# 2. Closing Remarks

The Chair thanked outgoing Commissioners Crawford, Evans, Kirby-Yung, Shum and Wiebe for their dedication and service, particularly Commissioner Crawford who has served as the Committee Chair for the entire four years.

The Chair expressed gratitude to the Park Board staff and offered best wishes to Margo Harper, Communications Manager, who will be retiring from the Park Board.

\* \* \* \* \*

At this point in the proceedings, the General Manager assumed the chair.

\* \* \* \* \*

#### **CONCLUSION OF 2014–2018 TERM**

Malcolm Bromley, General Manager, Park Board, recognized the 2014–2018 Park Board Commissioners and presented each with an appreciation gift, featuring a photograph of Luke Marston's sculpture, Shore to Shore. The artwork represents the Park Board's collaborative approach to working with the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh Nations.

--- 2018-2022 BOARD ---

#### OATH OF OFFICE

The General Manager read the election returns advising that: Tricia Barker, John Coupar, Dave Demers, Camil Dumont, Gwen Giesbrecht, John Irwin and Stuart Mackinnon received the highest number of votes and were declared Commissioners-elect for the years 2018–2022.

Katrina Leckovic, City Clerk, City of Vancouver, administered the Oath of Office to the Commissioners-elect. The Commissioners-elect repeated the Oath in unison, then each signed the Oath, witnessed by the City Clerk.

#### **ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR**

# 1. Election of Board Chair

As set forth in the Park Board's Procedure By-law, the General Manager, acting as Chair protem, called for nominations for Chair of the Board for the remainder 2018 and 2019.

Commissioner Demers nominated Commissioner Mackinnon as Chair of the Board for the remainder 2018 and 2019. Commissioner Mackinnon accepted the nomination.

The General Manager called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the General Manager declared nominations for the Chair of the Board closed.

The General Manager announced Commissioner Mackinnon elected as Chair of the Board by acclamation.

#### 2. Election of Board Vice-Chair

The General Manager called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board for the remainder 2018 and 2019.

Commissioner Dumont nominated Commissioner Demers as Vice-Chair of the Board for the remainder 2018 and 2019. Commissioner Demers accepted the nomination.

The General Manager called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the General Manager declared nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board closed.

The General Manager announced Commissioner Demers elected as Vice-Chair of the Board by acclamation.

\* \* \* \* \*

Commissioner Mackinnon assumed the chair.

\* \* \* \* \*

#### PARK BOARD COMMITTEE

# 1. Establishment of Park Board Committee for 2018–2022

MOVED by Commissioner Giesbrecht SECONDED by Commissioner Dumont

THAT the Park Board Committee be established for the 2018–2022 term.

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

\* \* \* \* \*

At this point in the proceedings, the General Manager assumed the chair.

\* \* \* \* \*

## 2. Election of Committee Chair

The General Manager called for nominations for the Chair of the Committee for the remainder 2018 and 2019.

Commissioner Irwin nominated Commissioner Giesbrecht as Chair of the Committee for the remainder 2018 and 2019. Commissioner Giesbrecht accepted the nomination.

The General Manager called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the General Manager declared nominations for the Chair of the Committee closed.

The General Manager announced Commissioner Giesbrecht elected as Chair of the Committee by acclamation.

#### 3. Election of Committee Vice-Chair

The General Manager called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Committee for the remainder 2018 and 2019.

Commissioner Mackinnon nominated Commissioner Barker as Vice-Chair of the Committee for the remainder 2018 and 2019. Commissioner Barker accepted the nomination.

The General Manager called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the General Manager declared nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Committee closed.

The General Manager announced Commissioner Barker elected as Vice-Chair of the Committee by acclamation.

\* \* \* \* \*

Commissioner Mackinnon reassumed the chair.

\* \* \* \* \*

# **INCOMING CHAIR REMARKS**

The Chair thanked the outgoing Commissioners for their service to the residents of the City of Vancouver and welcomed the incoming Commissioners.

The Board adjourned at 7:45 pm.

\* \* \* \* \*

Malcolm Bromley Commissioner Stuart Mackinnon Chair