

BOARD OF PARKS AND RECREATION INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING

NOVEMBER 7, 2022

A special Board meeting was held on Monday, November 7, 2022, at 7:00 pm, at the VanDusen Botanical Garden Visitor Centre, 5251 Oak Street, Vancouver, British Columbia.

PRESENT: Commissioner Stuart Mackinnon, Chair

Commissioner Tricia Barker

Commissioner-Elect Brennan Bastyovanszky Commissioner-Elect Laura Christensen

Commissioner John Coupar Commissioner-Elect Tom Digby Commissioner Camil Dumont

Commissioner Gwen Giesbrecht, Vice-Chair Commissioner-Elect Angela Kate Haer Commissioner-Elect Marie-Claire Howard

Commissioner-Elect Scott Jensen Commissioner-Elect Jas Virdi

ABSENT: Commissioner Dave Demers

Commissioner John Irwin

GENERAL Donnie Rosa, General Manager

MANAGER'S John Brodie, Director, Strategic Operations and Board Relations **OFFICE:** Natalie Froehlich, Director of Financial Planning and Analysis

Amit Gandha, Director, Parks

Dave Hutch, Director, Planning and Park Development

Steve Jackson, Director, Business Services

Steve Kellock, Director, Recreation

Betty Lepps, Director, Urban Relationships

Amanda Gibbs, Senior Manager, Communications, Marketing and Engagement

Rena Soutar, Manager, Decolonization Arts and Culture

Jessica Kulchyski, Meeting Assistant

Carol Lee, Meeting Clerk

* * * * *

2018-2022 BOARD

* * * * *

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The Chair acknowledged that the meeting is taking place on the traditional territory of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh First Nations. The meeting is being held on the land respectfully and with honour to each other, the land and the communities that the Park Board serve. The Chair invited all to join him in committing to actions of reconciliation in their deliberations and decisions.

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

MOVED by Commissioner Coupar SECONDED by Commissioner Dumont

THAT the minutes of the October 24, 2022 Board Committee and Regular Board Meetings be approved as circulated.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY/

CHAIR'S REPORT

1. Review of 2018–2022 Term

The Chair introduced a video highlighting the accomplishments during the term of the 2018–2022 Board and recognized the contributions of the Park Board staff.

2. Closing Remarks

The Chair thanked outgoing Commissioners for their dedication and service to the Park Board.

* * * * *

At this point in the proceedings, the General Manager assumed the chair.

* * * * *

CONCLUSION OF 2018–2022 TERM

Donnie Rosa, General Manager, Park Board, recognized the 2018–2022 Park Board Commissioners and presented each with an appreciation gift.

* * * * *

2022-2026 BOARD

* * * * *

OATH OF OFFICE

The General Manager read the election returns advising that: Brennan Bastyovanszky, Laura Christensen, Tom Digby, Angela Kate Haer, Marie-Claire Howard, Scott Jensen and Jas Virdi received the highest number of votes and were declared Commissioners-Elect for the years 2022–2026.

Rosemary Hagiwara, Acting City Clerk, City of Vancouver, administered the Oath of Office to the Commissioners-Elect. The Commissioners-Elect repeated the Oath of Office in unison, then each signed the Oath of Office, witnessed by the Acting City Clerk.

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

1. Election of Board Chair

As set forth in the Park Board's Procedure By-law, the General Manager, acting as Chair pro tem, called for nominations for Chair of the Board for the remainder of 2022 and 2023.

Commissioner Christensen nominated Commissioner Jensen as Chair of the Board for the remainder of 2022 and 2023. Commissioner Jensen accepted the nomination.

The General Manager called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the General Manager declared nominations for the Chair of the Board closed.

The General Manager announced Commissioner Jensen elected unanimously as Chair of the Board.

* * * * *

Commissioner Jensen assumed the chair.

* * * * *

2. Election of Board Vice-Chair

The Chair called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board for the remainder of 2022 and 2023.

Commissioner Haer nominated Commissioner Bastyovanszki as Vice-Chair of the Board for the remainder of 2022 and 2023. Commissioner Bastyovanszki accepted the nomination.

The Chair called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the Chair declared nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board closed.

The Chair announced Commissioner Bastyovanszki elected unanimously as Vice-Chair of the Board.

2. Election of Board Committee Chair

The Chair called for nominations for the Chair of the Board Committee for the remainder of 2022 and 2023.

Commissioner Digby nominated Commissioner Christensen as Chair of the Board Committee for the remainder of 2022 and 2023. Commissioner Christensen accepted the nomination.

The Chair called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the Chair declared nominations for the Chair of the Board Committee closed.

The Chair announced Commissioner Christensen elected unanimously as Chair of the Board Committee.

3. Election of Board Committee Vice-Chair

The Chair called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board Committee for the remainder of 2022 and 2023.

Commissioner Howard nominated Commissioner Haer as Vice-Chair of the Board Committee for the remainder of 2022 and 2023. Commissioner Haer accepted the nomination.

The Chair called for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, the Chair declared nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board Committee closed.

The Chair announced Commissioner Haer elected unanimously as Vice-Chair of the Board Committee.

PARK BOARD COMMITTEE

1. Establishment of Board Committee for 2022–2026

MOVED by Commissioner Digby SECONDED by Commissioner Virdi

THAT the Board Committee be established for the 2022–2026 term.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

INCOMING CHAIR REMARKS

The Chair thanked the outgoing Commissioners for their service to the residents of the City of Vancouver and welcomed the incoming Commissioners.

The Board adjourned at 7:45 pm.		
	* * * *	
Donnie Rosa General Manager	-	Commissioner Scott Jensen Chair